"Incorporating all disciplines involved in trauma care,
rehabilitation, training, and prevention"


Trauma Service Overview

This section is in the process of development.

There are 8 medical schools in South Africa, of which 5 have dedicated trauma services (some have more than one).

The idea is to summarise the available Level 1 academic services here and also use this section to give examples of how the TSSA Trauma Centre criteria will work in practice.
Currently only TWO private Trauma Unit’s in South Africa (both in Johannesburg) meet the true Level 1 criteria – namely that they are linked to an Academic University teaching service.The TSSA Trauma Level criteria document is now published in a peer reviewed Journal – SAMJ March 2011 – please consult this as a reference for what the requirement is to be accredited.

Since most units have not yet been formally accredited by TSSA, even if already accredited by ACS, we can only list them as “Level X – equivalent”

Current “Level 1 equivalent” Trauma Centres: (In alphabetcal order, Public or Private)

Charlot Maxeke, Johannesburg Hospital

Chris Hani Baragwanath Hospital, Soweto

Groote Schuur Hospital, Cape Town

Inkosi Albert Luthuli Central Hospital, Durban

Milpark Hospital, Johannesburg

Pelonomi Hospital Trauma Service, Bloemfontein

Union Hospital, Johannesburg

If you feel your hospital should be listed here, please send the name and a motivation as to what makes your service level 1 when compared to the Society criteria and we will consider adding it here. Send it to timothyhar@ialch.co.za for consideration

All other public or private services are actually LEVEL 2 or 3 units. Most non-tertiary Academic hospitals have units meeting most of the Level 2 criteria and there are many meeting Level 3 (Community District level) criteria.

We are appealing to all hospitals, public and private within South Africa to send us details of your services and your location and we will list you here as appropriate.
Formal accreditation can be arranged via the Society – contact the Secretary Mande Toubkin
We hope to list them here – both Private and Public